Tags

, , , , , ,

I haven’t been able to stop making madeleines ever since I first made them in the summer. They have been so easy to make with minimal fuss and with no need of dressing up. These little babies have also proven to be perfect to make for afternoon tea parties. Most of all, Le French Monsieur Audoin loves it! His approval makes my heart do little dances of joy.

These soft, buttery little cakes have also been my perfect comfort food. I couldn’t have asked for anything better to munch on as I sat and thought about life. Somehow, a warm cup of tea and some madeleines help make things seem more manageable no matter how difficult life’s curve balls are.

I started baking to help me cope with a situation I was struggling with. Ironically, this same situation has come back and baking brings back too many memories now. I may take a short break from baking and blogging for a while, but I know it won’t be long before I feel the itch to bake again. I am grateful for the friends I have made through this blog and for what I have learned through everyone’s blogs. I will be back soon, and whipping up a storm! In the meantime, do try the madeleines; I promise you won’t regret them. I do not apologize if you get addicted to them!

Earl Grey Madeleines
Adapted from here
 
50g butter
1 egg
2.5 tbsp sugar
3.5 tbsp flour
½ tsp loose leaf earl grey tea
¼ tsp vanilla extract
 
Grease and flour madeleine moulds.
 
Make the beurre noisette by warming a heavy-based pan over a moderate heat and add the butter. Swirl the butter every now and then until it has melted, turned a golden colour and gives off a nutty scent. Remove from heat and sprinkle tea leaves over the beurre noisette.
 
In a metal bowl, whisk the egg with the sugar until the mixture has become light and airy. You should be able to briefly leave a figure of eight with the balloon whisk on the surface of the mixture. Add in the vanilla extract.
 
Sift the flour into the bowl and gently fold into the egg mixture. Finally, gently stir the beurre noisette through the mixture. Leave to rest in the fridge for at least an hour.
 
Preheat oven to 180C. Spoon the batter into the madeleine moulds filling them 3/4 full. Bake in the preheated oven for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown and springy to the touch.
 
Leave to cool in the mould for a while until cool enough to handle and then turn out onto a wire rack.
 
Once cooled, store in an airtight container. Madeleines are best eaten fresh but will keep to up to 2 days.
