Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Halfway through a very riveting episode of Criminal Minds, I felt the sudden urge to cook something for myself. OK, so it was dinner time and my tummy wasn’t too happy that I was paying more attention to Thomas Gibson. To satisfy both tummy and eyes, I had to make something tasty and pronto!

As much as I love slaving away at a hot stove (still not so convinced about the prep part), chucking food into the oven, running out to catch a few more glimpses of unsub catcher, running back in to grab food out of oven and sitting at the coffee table drooling at both food and said unsub catcher is definitely the way to go when you’re torn between tv and food. Of course having a tv in the kitchen would help. Or wouldn’t it?

I decided to go with what I had at hand, and to make something that would require minimal prep and clean up. I had jumbo prawns, a tub of sun dried tomato paste, chorizo, and leftover rosemary. Tadah! Instant dish! I threw them in the oven, ran out and ogled at Thomas Gibson, set my “playlist” for more shows, ran back in and got food out of oven, permanently moved back to living room and spent the rest of the evening polishing off my plate and going through 4 episodes of Criminal Minds. Bliss!

It is essential that the ingredients are fresh as the flavor of the prawn just stands out and the sauce complements it very nicely. Most everything can be bought from gourmet food shops, and they are well worth the price for the quality you get.

Jumbo Prawns and Chorizo in Tomato Sauce
 
6 jumbo/tiger prawns
100g chorizo, sliced
3 tbsp sun dried tomato paste
3 sprigs of rosemary
3 cloves garlic, minced
 
Pre-heat oven to 220C. Arrange prawns and chorizo in a baking dish. Mix rosemary and garlic with the tomato paste and spread over the prawns and chorizo until well covered. Cover the baking dish with foil to prevent the sauce from drying out. Bake for around 15 minutes until prawns are cooked. Be careful not to overcook the prawns! Serve with slices of lemon and some focaccia bread.
