Tags

, , , , ,

We’re in the middle of Lent, but trust me, my ramble is actually related to chocolate. Hang in there!

The Americans celebrate the day before Lent by partying. The Brits? We have a very docile celebration in the form of Shrove Tuesday, also known as Pancake Tuesday where one over indulges in pancakes. I believe the rationale for this was that eggs, flour and milk were considered a commodity back then and thus, it was a splurge to eat pancakes before “refraining from such luxuries” for a month during Lent. In a way, eating pancakes is like Mardi Gras to the Brits minus the beads. heh.

We celebrated Pancake Tuesday by having lots and lots of pancakes and a smorgasbord of toppings. MA made over 40 pancakes, Z cooked the pancakes and made hearts out of them. I made lemon curd and chocolate sauce as my contribution for the night. And what I learned, was that you can never go wrong with chocolate. AND it is always a good thing to have chocolate sauce or ganache (or chocolate in any form) at hand at all times. Chocolate and strawberries? yum. Chocolate and salami and bacon? oh joy!

I was too cheap and lazy to walk out to buy chocolate sauce so I decided to make my own. I used David Lebovitz’s recipe and absolutely loved it. I didn’t have corn syrup and made do by making my own sugar syrup first by bringing ½ cup of sugar and ¼ cup of water to the boil and stirring constantly until the sugar was dissolved.

Chocolate Sauce
Adapted from here

1 cup water
½ cup sugar
½ cup syrup
¾ cup cocoa powder
55g dark chocolate, chopped
 
In a medium saucepan, whisk together the water, sugar, corn syrup and cocoa powder. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Once the mixture starts boiling, remove from heat and stir in the chopped chocolate until melted.
 
Let the chocolate sauce rest for a few hours before serving to let it thicken. Store the chocolate sauce in an airtight container in the fridge.
 
