Tags

, , , ,

I can’t believe it’s the middle of December already!!! I never knew time could fly by so quickly even when I’m not enjoying it or that I would have to work so hard. I pretty much hit the ground running right after my cupcake lesson and had to immediately learn things I’ve never done before, nor do I ever want to again. In the past month, I think I managed to cook only a handful of times in that month and boy, do I miss cooking! I did manage to squeeze in a late night baking to make the yummilicious brownies, which were a hit with my clients. Although that may actually now work against my favor…oh well! If you ever want to NOT do IT audit (or any form of audit), DO NOT bake brownies for your clients!

November wasn’t all that bad though. I got to go to Atlanta for work (more craziness) but the best parts were before and after Atlanta. Before heading out for Atlanta, I got to spend Thanksgiving with my gorgeous, gorgeous friend Pat (who now has a blog!) and her family. It was so relaxing and refreshing to just chill, talk, laugh, run around and gape at kitchen shops, cook and reconnect with her. And I finally got to meet her lovely kiddo Elena! Pat is an amazing cook and I am completely gobsmacked at how she can juggle her family and job and have home cooked food on the table every night (curries made from scratch people!! Even her spices are crushed by hand.)

We had a traditional Thanksgiving on Wednesday night and decided to do a Chinese dinner on Thursday night with Ben and Pat’s friends. Pat made chili crab and a tofu dish and I pan fried the plain Chinese sweet buns to go with the crab. The crab was absolutely beautiful! Note to self, learn to cook from Pat.

We spent Black Friday at the zoo and had chicken and waffles for lunch at Lo-Lo’s. Chicken. With. Waffles. Drenched in syrup. How wrong is that? It was SO GOOD!!! Oh, and we had Stupid Fries too. I love the name! Stupid fries is actually hot fries topped with cheese, gravy, peppers and shredded chicken. It is awesome!!

Pat celebrated her birthday in October and I had made a marble butter cake for her but in the midst of all the craziness, forgot to pack it in my suitcase. GAHHH!! To make up for my gaffe, I made vanilla lemon cupcakes for Pat. We had fun piping the icing on the cupcakes and Ben even made one look like soft serve ice cream! I also made a cinnamon pull apart bread for breakfast for the next day. This is the best recipe I could ever ask for! Knead the bread? Pfffft. And it is SO good on its own you don’t need icing to go with it. Just ask Ben! :)

I got the Lemon Vanilla Cupcake recipe off Yahoo Answers. Who said Yahoo Answers is full of crap? It isn’t! It nearly is! Tee hee. In honor of being in America, I’m keeping the measurements in true upside down American metric system. What I loved so much about America is that butter comes in sticks! No need to cut and weigh. I wish England did that too!

Lemon Vanilla Cupcake
½ cup butter, melted
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, well beaten
1 tablespoon lemon juice
¼ teaspoon salt (omit if using salted butter)
1½ cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½  cup milk
1 pod vanilla seeds
zest of ½ lemon
 
Preheat oven to 325°F and line a cupcake tin with 12 liners.
 
Sift salt, flour and baking powder and set aside.
 
Cream sugar and butter until light and flully. Add eggs and lemon juice. Add in the dry ingredients and mix well. Add in milk vanilla seeds and lemon zest. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool completely before icing.
 
Lemon Buttercream Frosting
2 cups confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar)
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon milk
 
In large bowl beat confectioner’s sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and lemon juice until smooth. Add milk as needed, combine until ingredients are fully incorporated and light and fluffy.
 

I will post the recipe for the cinnamon pull apart bread soon, but I have so many posts to go through! But first, a little teaser…

