Tags

, , , , ,

I’m sick…again!!! I was going to make bacon and corn chowder but because I was sick, I made (one of) my favorite comfort food, ABC soup. The soup is light and healthy, perfect for someone trumpeting and hacking up her lungs like me. I have absolutely no idea why this soup is called ABC. I guess you could throw anything in and it will taste great. (That still doesn’t explain why it is called ABC although in Malaysia ABC means “thrown together/mix and match”…maybe???)

ABC Soup
 
4 chicken breast/legs, skin and fat removed
2 corn on the cob, halved
2 carrots, cubed
1 onion, quartered
2 stalks celery, sliced
handful of mushrooms, halved
 
Bring half a pot of water to the boil. Place chicken in pot and skim the scum of the top. Add in corn, carrots, onion and celery. Reduce heat and simmer for at least 45 minutes. Add mushrooms and simmer for at least another 15 minutes. Add in salt to taste. Remove from heat and serve warm.
 
 
