Tags

, , , ,

I have to admit, I’m more of the lazy baker than the intrepid baker. I’d like to say that I made this because Pat’s daughter is allergic to eggs but I’m just a really lazy cheapskate. The lazy part of me didn’t want to have to bake them or use gelatin, and the cheapskate part of me didn’t want eggs (plus, I get iffy when there are uncooked eggs in my food) or cream. I found the perfect recipe somewhere that uses yogurt instead of cream and tweaked it a little. Thank God for Google!

The first batch I made came out perfect. The second time round, I decided to add vanilla seeds in and it was heavenly! Except it seemed thicker and didn’t quite set as well as the first batch…apart from that, the cheesecakes were perfect.

The good thing about making them in the little jars is that you can eat one without feeling guilty. Until you reach for your nth pot…

Easy Peasy No Bake Cheesecake
Original recipe found here
 
250g digestive biscuits
100g butter, melted
 
cup cream cheese
½ cup vanilla yogurt
6 tsp caster sugar (adjust to preference)
½ lemon juice
grated lemon zest, optional
1 pod vanilla seeds, optional
 
Butter and line an 8″ springform tin with parchment paper. Put the biscuits in a ziplock bag and crush to crumbs using a rolling pin. Transfer the crumbs to a bowl, then pour over the melted butter. Mix thoroughly until the crumbs are completely coated. Tip them into the prepared tin and press firmly down on the base to create an even layer. Chill in the fridge for 1 hour to set firmly.
 
Blend the cream cheese until smooth and lump free. Add all the remaining ingredients and mix well. Pour mixture over the set base and spread evenly. Refrigerate to set for about 1-2 hours.

